The question does not arise when you know "your" hometown and the surrounding area. But even an inhabitant of Arles will not find himself in the markets of Marseille, so how will it be for smaller markets in the Provençal hinterland? Tourists will also want to organize their time well, visit villages and isn't it so much better on a market day, like for example Turriers?

The Provence-guide.net site aims to make people discover Provence in the broad sense, the markets are the approach of the moment, there are currently 905 listed in the six departments of Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur. The offer is now also extended to hikes, interesting natural sites to visit and there are also some local recipes that are slow to grow. But it's a matter of years, in the south we let ideas mature over time. This does not prevent the markets from being updated regularly and the author of the site, André M. Winter, being open to any new market proposal and to making corrections or new photos.

There is of course a personal story behind this markets database: I grew up in the south of France, in Cavalaire, and I am often in the region. My wife loves the markets there and we've only ever had paper lists with outdated information. We were completely clueless when we got to other departments. So the first step was to put the list into a spreadsheet program on the computer, but with the different opening times, the limits were soon reached. In 2011 it was transferred to a database, which then quickly went online with the Var department. The remaining departments of this region in south-eastern France slowly followed suit.

Provence-Guide.Net is currently non-commercial, apart from advertising, which only helps to offset the server costs. The content of the website, the summarized information and the layout are subject to copyright. All photos are only reproduced with the consent of the authors if they are copyrighted images. This does not allow anyone to reuse these images in any way whatsoever. Images in the public domain or under Creative Commons licenses and similar all identify the author of the image and are always subject to the same license terms as the original image. Also see info.

La question ne se pose pas quand on connaît "son" patelin et les alentours. Mais même un habitant d'Arles ne se retrouvera pas dans les marchés de Marseille, alors comment ce sera pour des marchés plus petits de l'arrière-pays provençal ? Les touristes aussi voudront bien organiser leur temps, visiter des villages et n'est-ce pas tellement mieux lors d'un jour de marché, comme par exemple Rosans?

Le site Provence-guide.net a pour vocation de faire découvrir la Provence au sens large, les marchés sont l'approche du moment, il y en a actuellement 905 répertoriées dans les six départements de Provence-Alpes-Côte-d'Azur. L'offre est maintenant aussi agrandie aux randonnées, aux sites naturels intéressant à visiter et on trouve aussi quelques recettes locales qui tardent à s'allonger. Mais c'est une question d'années, dans le sud on laisse mûrir les idées avec le temps. Ceci n'empêche pas que les marchés soient mis à jour régulièrement et que l'auteur du site, André M. Winter, est ouvert à toute nouvelle proposition de marché ainsi pour apporter des corrections ou des nouvelles photos.

Il y a une histoire derrière cette base de données sur les marchés provençaux : j'ai grandi à Cavalaire et je retourne souvent dans la région. Ma femme adore les marchés et on avait toujours des listes incomplètes. Nous manquions d'informations quand on bougeait entre les départements. Alors passage de la liste papier dans un logiciel de tableur et comme cela ne suffit pas avec les horaires et les différences entre été et hiver je passe à une base de données que j'ai mis en ligne en 2011 en commençant par le Var. Puis petit à petit tout les départements de PACA ont suivi.

Provence-Guide.Net n'a pas de vocation commerciale si ce ne sont les publicités affichés pour faire face aux frais d'hébergement du serveur. Le contenu du site, l'agrégation des informations et la mise en page sont protégés par le droit d'auteur. Les photos sont toutes reproduites avec consentement des auteurs si ces photos n'était pas libres à l'origine. Ceci n'autorise personne à les réutiliser à quelque fin que ce soit. Les photos libres, celles sous licence Creative Commons ou similaires sont toutes référencés avec leur nom d'auteur et la même licence que celle d'origine s'applique aux reproductions sur ce site. Plus de détails sous infos.